Villains

So yesterday I was talking with a friend about Book 1 and she mentioned things about my villain that led me to wonder, what is his motivation? Why does he target this particular family? What led him to turn from good to bad?

As I mulled over those questions, I was able to look into life and grew to understand him. The battle scene between the villain and my main character grew to have more meaning as I now understand what motivates both sides.

If you have a villain, ask yourself those same questions (made to fit your own story of course). Everyone has motivation behind what they do. Even if you choose not to put the villain’s back story in your novel/short story you need to know it so he/she will be more realistic.

Happy writing! Only a few days left of NaNoWriMo!

WD

Leave a Reply

