Heart Stopped: Excruciating Pain

Earlier today I left on my lunch break and left my computer on my desk. When I returned, I noticed that my shortcuts for my novels were all missing.

That’s weird, I thought.

I found the files and made new shortcuts, putting them back where I’d had them before.

This evening, I went to go and work on Book 1 and the link took me to an old file from more than two months back. I hurried and checked my Book 2 manuscript.

The same.

I literally felt like my heart stopped.

I dropped to my knees and sobbed for several minutes.

I couldn’t get back what was lost. I could get a rough draft of a small segment back since I’d put it in a separate file to show to friends but there was still so much that I couldn’t find.

After crying for a while, a thought occurred to me to check one other place. I had the folders saved in two locations. If I didn’t find the updated documents there, I knew I would be curled up in fetal position for days.

Fortunately for me, the files were there. My heart still hasn’t fully started up again but it’s getting there.

Lesson: Always make sure your shortcuts are connected to the place you want them to be.

I’m grateful that God helped me to know where to look. Without that help, I’d be lost.

WD

Leave a Reply

