Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers

So on Wednesday I will be attending a workshop at the Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers Conference (WIFYR). I’m super excited because the workshop, entitled Writing Romance in the YA Novel, will be taught by an author that I really admire: Sarah M. Eden.

Sarah is a writer of Regency romance so I enjoy reading her Jane Austen-esque novels.

Needless to say, I can’t wait.

The director of WIFYR was one of my university professors: Carol Lynch Williams.

I want to share a little something about Carol because for me, she’s a lot more than a teacher.

When I was 9-years-old, Carol was one of my favorite authors. She co-wrote a series with another author and I absolutely loved them. My mom took me to our local bookstore to get a couple more books from the series and Carol was there along with her co-author.

Talk about making a child’s day.

I talked with both of them and they signed my books.

Soon after that, I started telling people that I would be a published author someday.

Carol inspired me.

In every autobiography assignment that I had to write for classes, I brought up that event because of the effect it had on me.

Fast forward to November of 2012.

I received an email from the professor of one of my classes for the upcoming semester: Writing for Children and Adolescents.

The email said that we wouldn’t be allowed to write fantasy or science fiction in the class so I wasn’t sure if I wanted to stay registered for the class, until I reached the end and saw the signature line: Carol Lynch Williams.

Needless to say, I did not transfer to another section of the class.

I couldn’t write what I usually do, but the things I learned help me in my current projects.

To add to that, I met my writing group in Carol’s class.

I honestly can’t thank Carol enough for inspiring me as a child and teaching me as an adult.

Who has inspired you in your writing?

WD

One thought on “Writing and Illustrating For Young Readers

Leave a Reply

