Voice

So I woke up with some mulling ideas for my time travel story in my head.

I went over them in my head, then wrote them down like I usually do.

Then one of my characters, who now will have a POV, came into my mind and then I had lines to write. She already had her own voice which was a different kind than I’m used to. It’s more poetic.

Finding character voice isn’t always as easy as this instance illustrated. The best way I’ve found of finding character voice is writing scenes in that character’s POV. It may take time and their voice may sound like another character’s at first.

However, as you keep working on it you’ll find it.

Have a great weekend!

WD

Leave a Reply

