Camp NaNoWriMo – Week 3 Midweek

Hey Everyone!

This week of Camp has been interesting. On Monday I was exhausted so only wrote 348 words. Not a great day when it comes to trying to get a word count but oh well.

Due to this, I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to catch up on Tuesday.

Cue motivation.

On Tuesday morning at work, I didn’t have a lot to do so I went into my Scrivener file for Topaas to see what scenes I could work on to try and get my word count up.

As I looked at the different chapters, which I’d only labeled with the POV character’s name, I figured I should put something else on there for reference while I’m drafting so I know where to look for things.

Upon reaching the chapter that’s one of the most important in the book I noticed that 2/3 of the chapter wasn’t in there.

Yikes_Red_Text

Calm down, I said. I probably just haven’t typed it up from writing it in my notebook.

Logical explanation.

Open notebook.

Only the very end of the scene is there.

Missing: THE CRITICAL MOMENT

I looked everywhere but the segment was nowhere to be found. Close to 1,000 words of the catalyst scene for my series, missing.

All right.

I needed to rewrite the scene.

I could do it and make it better.

Motivation: Found.

I knew how I’d done it before but in thinking about it, the beginning felt boring.

I rewrote that entire segment, even the small bit that was in my notebook.

So where I thought I’d not even be able to get to where I wanted to be: 14,000 words (I’d gotten to 12,135 the day before), I ended up with 14,141 words!

The great thing is that it’s all good stuff :D.

Never forget:

quality-over-quantity

You can do it, even when you don’t think you can!

Keep moving forward!

WD

Leave a Reply

