Secondary Character Backstory

Every character has some sort of backstory that helps to make them who they are.

Dr. Doofenshmirtz from Disney Channel’s Phineas and Ferb always has an emotionally scarring backstory to tell.

This past weekend I realized that my mentor character in Sapphyre (we’ll call her C) had some history with my heroine’s mother (J). I could just feel the disdain she had for her and I couldn’t help but wonder why.

That led me on a mental journey to figure out why C hates J.

Even if you won’t feature a character’s backstory within your novel itself, it’s important to know it.

Through my little journey into the backstories I realized that there’s a lot more behind the story than I realized.

The reason why C hates J doesn’t have anything to do with a big backstory that I discovered but it started out because I wasn’t sure how the thing I wanted to work could.

Looking into backstories can lead you on a great adventure, so even if there’s something that won’t feature in your actual novel, it can add a layer of depth that you wouldn’t have otherwise.


In what ways has understanding backstory helped you?

Leave a Reply

