Cautions About Taking a Writing Break

So as most of you know, I went to Israel at the end of last month.

DSCN0601.JPG
View of Jerusalem from the Mount of Olives

While on the trip, I would write a sentence or two each day so I could still click yes on my Commit app (I’m currently at 288 days in a row) but for the most part it was a writing break.

I didn’t think of my manuscript at all other than the less than five minutes each day where I would write something down before going to sleep.

For me, this hasn’t been helpful for my writing because now that I’m back, I’ve been in a funk.

My desire to write has plummeted.

There are some people who find it helpful to step away from their manuscripts and give themselves a break from writing before coming back to look at it with new eyes.

That doesn’t work for me.

Taking breaks from one novel may help but I always work on one of my other projects when I do that.

One or two days of just jotting down a sentence or two may be good but ten days was not helpful.

Now I need to force myself out of this funk so I can get my manuscript rolling again.

Leave a Reply

