Scheduling Myself

Hey folks!

When it comes to moving forward on a manuscript, I often get stuck because I keep going back to change things in the beginning.

At the start of the new year I made a goal to finish a manuscript draft by the end of 2016. I hope to do more but we’ll see.

If I want to do that, I know that I need to move forward and not keep getting caught in the unending spiral of fixing the beginning.

ap_blog_oatesquote
I need to remember this

Sometimes it’s difficult to balance moving forward and revision.

When I was in the class, Writing for Children and Adolescents, I asked my professor how we were supposed to constantly move forward when we also needed to fix things that she and the class had pointed out in critiques.

Her advice was to take 2 days out of the week for revision and use the rest for moving forward.

That advice is now the foundation of the writing schedule that I’ve given myself.

On Mondays and Tuesdays, I fix scenes or conversations that aren’t working and on all the other days of the week, I move forward with the manuscript.

I’ve only been at it for a couple weeks but it’s been so helpful. I’m not driven mad by the things that need fixing and I’m still moving.

What are ways that help you to keep going in your manuscripts?

Leave a Reply

