Making Motivation

I’ve found that in the last couple weeks, I’ve lost a lot of motivation in my writing.

Storymakers was good in giving me direction as to where I wanted to go but my motivation to write has been lacking.

da52c0b8250ee90ea946697fad73aca4

After much thought, this morning I decided to make my own motivation.

I got to work and after doing a few things that I needed to around the office, I set a timer for myself and wrote for a 15 minutes blitz.

That produced nearly 300 words.

9d172dee600982128c205e2bb000659f

The great thing is that it’s the beginning of the day for me. I’m going to do at least 2 other 15 minute blitzes today, trying to get up to at least 1,000 words.

That is something I really want to work to because I haven’t gotten over 1,000 words in over a month.

My goal for now is to take time each morning when I get to work (after taking care of anything pressing) and write for 15 minutes.

I’ve realized that if my writing is important to me, I need to take time for it. My life may be busy, but that won’t change.

I need to make time for the things that are important.

[note: due to the Storymakers¬†heads sending a message to the conference attendees about not posting notes to respect the intellectual property of the presenter, I won’t be posting those].

Leave a Reply

