Help Writing

I’ve still been in a writing funk but I got some advice that can help any writers.

“Read books (or short stories, novellas, etc) within the genre that you write in.”

Since Regency Fantasy is a relatively small genre, I’ve read a lot of books set in the Regency. My next plan is to read within the Fantasy genre, starting with some Brandon Sanderson. Reading helps to open the mind to new ideas and it also has helped me to see things that I want to avoid.

reading-is-to-the-mind

If I want to be a good writer, I need to read what’s out there to improve my craft. It gets the brain working when it feels like it’s stopped.

If you’re stuck, try reading a good book. It will help.

4 thoughts on “Help Writing

  1. Hi Whitney,

    I was looking through those whose blogs I follow and noticed you haven’t blogged in a while. I’m guilty of such a heinous act (lol) as well. I hope that you have continued with your writings! Without looking back, or researching too much, given I have a killer headache at the moment, do you have any books for sale? I would like to check out your work.

    Keep on keeping on, and I look forward to your next blog.
    Great advice you posted here, by the way. I need to read more often. I’ve barely picked up a book in years. The last on I read was the last of the Companions Codex of the Legend of Drizzt series. I bought the first in the next trilogy (kindle version), but have yet to read the first page.

  2. Hey Jake,

    I’m going to be posting again soon, possibly starting tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ I was in such a writing funk that I had no clue what to blog about. I’m back writing and am doing great. Reading Brandon Sanderson helped a ton and I’m back on another writing streak!

    I do have one book for sale but I don’t really recommend it for a few reasons. I published it at 18 (wrote it at 16) and now have a University education behind me. Also, the lowest price I was allowed to set it at was $26. Now that’s fine for a brand new hardback epic fantasy but this is a paperback of barely over 50K words. Not really worth it. Hopefully I can get Topaas up to par soon so I can start using it to query agents and editors.

    Thanks for reading the blog!

    • Ah, okay. I get like that too, and rarely blog as much as I should. It’s good to hear you’re writing! I was away from it for almost two months. I burned myself out after finishing a book then two heavy edits on different books. But I just started a new book a week or so ago.

      That is quite a high price for a paperback. What did you use to publish it? It sounds like Blurb. I published my first trilogy through them and it was way too expensive at minimum price and didn’t even end up getting my royalties due to a setting that I missed about passing on royalty payments. It wouldn’t have been much, but still…
      Well, I’ll be following your blog still to see when you get a book published and to see anything else you have to say! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • I published through Author House. That really sucks that you weren’t able to get your royalties on your trilogy. I’ve gotten my royalties, which hasn’t been a ton but the checks always made me smile. I felt like a professional, even when a check would just be for $2.76 haha.

        I wrote tomorrow’s post so it should be posting in the morning. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m back on board with the blog and I’m glad you’ll keep reading. I appreciate your comments.

Leave a Reply

