Moving from Draft to Draft

One of the things I’ve learned this week is that there are a lot of things that don’t transfer well between drafts.

I’ll be using some flashbacks in my manuscript so I decided to see if there was anything that would work from the previous draft.

f313364857d145545144394136e2de14_flash-clipart-news-flash-cover-news-flash-clipart_320-193

Nothing did.

When you’re writing a second draft to a novel, it’s normal to change a lot of stuff because first drafts are basically fertilizer. Good things come from the framework but things shift once you know the whole story.

Some of those scenes from my old draft can be reworked when I figure things out, but for now, I’ll just enjoy writing flashbacks from long before the book began.

P.S. If you haven’t looked at the progress bars yet, they’re giving some good information. I love updating the Topaas one 🙂

Leave a Reply

