Shoving through the Middles

There are many authors who agree that the middles are the worst.

As you may remember, I was so excited at the end of December that I’d finished Act I of my WIP. I felt confident that I could work hard and finish the book within a few months.

funny-reality-check

I went through what I had plotted out, then my mind went into frustration mode. I knew that I was working towards my midpoint but had absolutely no idea what my protagonist was going to deal with in the space in between. I had a general idea but nothing concrete. I felt like I was stuck in thick mud.

hqdefault
Guybrush Threepwood’s attempts to get out of quicksand in The Curse of Monkey Island felt similar to what I was dealing with

To add to the struggle, I had no idea what would be going on in the chapters that were in the POV of my second MC.

The middles are hard because there’s excitement for the beginning and then the ending is something you (usually) know and are working towards. The middles are where lots of crap happens to the protagonist. It’s the struggle of writing what will lead you to the ending you’re planning on.

I’ve been shoving through these middles and even though it’s been slower moving, I finally have an idea for what’s going to happen in the chapters leading up towards my important midpoint. I’m back in my chapter by chapter outline and I know what things I’m going to put in each chapter for the most part.

So if you’re feeling stuck, you can push through the mud and end up with something awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

